Sculptris: 3D modeling software

Tonight I have had some fun playing with a new tool. I will not be putting in my creation just yet as I need to do some work on them. At the moment they look more like something out of an alien movie.

From the Sculptris image library

From the Sculptris image library

The program I downloaded was called Sculptris. It is free 3D modeling software for Windows (there is no Mac option). Sculptris is designed to create models of sculptures and 3D objects with an almost hand-made aspect. It allows you to sculpt a figure in three dimensions,is based on a ball. It is really very simple and reasonably intuitive to use and requires no special knowledge of 3D modeling. I simply started to shape  the “ball” with the different tools just as though it were a block of clay.

The designer, Tomas Pettersson, created this application for his own enjoyment as a hobby and it is free. He does envisage developing it further and states that any donations to him would be used to help him fix any problems.  It amazes me that someone has spent so much time and effort creating these tools and are willing to share them with us.

It is an amazing tool and to get a better idea of how it works have a look at the videos below. They show, in a much more effective way than I can put into words, just how to create images using this program.

This looks as though it might be a good tool for students in the visual arts area. They could use this program to design models for claymation models or sculpture projects. I haven’t used it a lot but it might also be useful in other subject areas where models could be created such as geography, geology and science.

7 Responses

  1. [...] the rest here: Sculptris: 3D modeling software Share and [...]

  2. Hmmm i think i might get this software

  3. Interesting. Go to the link…

  4. This softwear is FREE?!?!?!?!
    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for sharing this!!!!!!! I believe this is one of the BEST things I have clicked on from the WordPress dashboard….. :)
    Awesome.. I can’t wait to play around with this when I get home!!!

  5. [...] I also have a thing for 3D modelling software (Blender, Vue, Maya etc.) so I was delighted to find a post about Sculptris on an Rhondda’s blog. Sculptris: 3D modeling software [...]

  6. Amazes me how people have the patience and skill to use software like this.

  7. Very Nice
    ph-otos.blogspot.com

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 954 other followers

