It’s all a matter of perception: Good coming out of adversity

On the CoolCatteacher blog there is a post called good grief. It was timely due to a tragic incident involving a student in our school last week. Her post was very eloquent about how personal grief can be used to build something important.

It is also timely when discussing changes, both planned and unplanned. The idea that, when things don’t go exactly as planned, you can learn more or other things from the experience. I have found that, when something hasn’t worked with technology in my classes, as long as I know what skill I want the kids to learn it is not a big deal or the end of the world. In fact I have had some great lessons when I have involved the students in finding a solution to our problem. The take on somer ownership of the lesson and there is a whole feeling that we are all in this together and we can solve it together.

Over the years I guess I’ve learn’t that the lesson is not about my ego but more a pertnership between the students and myself. This doesn’t mean we don’t have to “get through the boring bits”, although I try to make it interesting. It also doesn’t mean they are all angels, and I don’t ever have to raise my voice. It doesn’t mean that everything is always wonderful but, most of the time, I find I actually like most of the students, their questions and their comments keep me going and can make me smile.

Leave a Reply

