Book Trailers – rubric

The Sorcerer of the North Trailer. Released for US market a few weeks ago. 

I am working on my presentation about using book trailers with students as an alternative way to respond to their reading. I am also creating a wiki about all things to do with reading. This will be my second wiki and I hope to explore more visual options and create something useful for teachers to begin with.

Today I have finished/finalised a rubric I created to assess book trailers created by students. It can be found on this wiki, which is, as I have said, is only in its infancy. I would be interested in any comments on the rubric. It is always interesting deciding what to put in and I think that I will end up with at least 2 rubrics to cover some alternative approaches to using the book trailer as a way of responding to a book, YA Literature or some reading. I think I will incorporate some group assessment as well to allow for a group approach to creating a book trailer, as it might also be used by literature circles groups.

8 Responses

  1. For a minute I thought that the boys had made this one!

  2. […] first collected Added 05 Nov 08 from rhondda.wordpress.com Flag as inappropriate or […]

  3. The rubric’s really good. I’m playing around with one for the year 7s’ trailer for ‘School of Rock’. Thanks for the ideas.

  4. Great Wiki Rhonda. The rubric in particular looks very useful.

  5. Thank you for the rubric. I’m a business teacher who is looking to incoporate reading with my business students. In particular, I’d like them to read leadership (including coaching) or some type of business non-fiction book. I have seen so many students try to take short cuts and use cliff notes, so this assignment will help curtail those students. I’m also going to try double-entry diaries for reading.

  6. […] Rubric pdf – Teacher ideas – pdf Rubricshow Booktrailerrubic Scribd Rubric Wikispaces rubric https://rhondda.wordpress.com/2008/11/05/book-trailers-rubric/ http://www.squidoo.com/booktrailers Teresa Schauer’s Book Trailers for All  US site Ultimate […]

  7. Αn impressive share! I have jhst forwarded this οnto a coworkeer ѡho
    had been doing a little homework on this. And
    he actually ordered me dinneг because I ѕtumbled uupon it ffoг him…
    lol. So allow me to reword this….Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spendiոǥ thе time to talk about this
    matter here on your internet site.

Leave a Reply

