What do I believe about all students?

 

Flying

Flying

I have been writing pastoral care reports and so thinking about the pastoral care students I see everyday. After concentrating on these I thought that I would have a look at what others have been writing about on blogs I haven’t been to for a while. On Teaching tomorrow, Nicole Cox, wrote about a blog post she had read.  

 Martha Thornburgh of Opening Doors to Digital Learningwas asked the question “Do you believe all students can meet standards?”  Please read about her response on her blog. The “All Students Meme” came about as a result. 
1. Share three things that you believe about all students.
2. Reflect on your thoughts in your blog. (If you do not have a blog, you can share your ideas in a comment from this post.)
3. Be sure to link to this post and to where you were first tagged.
4. Tag your response with AllStudentsMeme
5. Invite others to join the conversation by tagging them to be a part of the meme.

This got me thinking. She also tagged a few others including Vicki Davis (CoolCat Teacher blog). There have been some really thoughtful answers but what are three things I believe about students?

  • All students are capable of learning, no matter what their skills/strengths are, their backgrounds or their
  • All students deserve teachers who care about what their students; what they are learning, that their learning styles/strengths are catered for, that that the courses are  relevant to the place the students are in.
  • All students learn best when they have a positive relationship with their teachers and a connection to the learning. Relationships, that are built up between the young people and the adults in their world, are important to their well-being and their ability to learn.
  • And one more, all students deserve a chance to show they can “shine”, and whatever it is, it , and they, are valuable.   

I know that’s four, but 2 and 3 are related anyway. As I started to write I thought of other things but these are probably my core beliefs. What are yours?

One Response

  1. I am so glad that you chose to participate in this meme. I especially love your #4. So often we don’t let kids shine often enough.

Leave a Reply

