Typealyzer: checking my blog writing style

One of the forum discussions on our PLP Ning is entitled: What does your blog writing style say about your personality?

featured-blog

I did the test using Typealyzer. This tool analyses the writing style in your blog. I don’t know if the content is analysed or the tags but it is entertaining and faster than answering all the questions on the Myers-Briggs survey. My blog analysis came out as an ISTP – The Mechanics group. They are the independent and problem-solving type. They are especially attuned to the demands of the moment and are masters of responding to challenges that arise spontaneously. They generally prefer to think things out for themselves and often avoid inter-personal conflicts.
The Mechanics enjoy working together with other independent and highly skilled people and often like seek fun and action both in their work and personal life. They enjoy adventure and risk such as in driving race cars or working as policemen and firefighters
. (No-one has ever let me near a racing car!)

I have done personality tests before and my blog reflects the results of those tests. I did my first test when I was studying psychology at university, and the “I” component has never changed. I have never rated on the “E” (Extrovert) scale. I am also known for my practicality, at least most of the time. Whether this is totally innate or learned, I am not sure. I was the eldest in my family and grew up on a farm, where being practical and independent was strongly encouraged. My energy and drive to get things done is mainly internal. I rarely need external sources to give me energy and ideas. I do however enjoy sharing ideas and get added impetus from others who are also enthusiastic/interested. Being part of the social networks this year has really been exciting because there have been so many other people sharing ideas, skills, etc.

The little diagram below shows how Typealyzer has analysed my brain activity.

typealyzer

I had another blog when I was part of the SLAV web2.0 program, so I ran that. As part of this program we were directed to certain tools and asked to report/discuss them. The results were slightly different as on this early blog but not too much. I was judged to have an ISTJ style, or The Duty Fulfillers type. The responsible and hardworking type. They are especially attuned to the details of life and are careful about getting the facts right. Conservative by nature they are often reluctant to take any risks whatsoever. The Duty Fulfillers are happy to be let alone and to be able to work in their own space. They know what they have to do and how to do it. Below is the analysis of the brain activity, spot the difference!

typealyzer2

You can also check out the writing styles of blogs belonging to your friends but don’t get paranoid, remember typecasting can be fun and each type has its strengths and weaknesses!!! -)

So my personality traits and my blog style correlate, as far as that goes, but what does that mean for the future of my blog? More of the same mixture I daresay!

Leave a Reply

