25 books to read- a list

Book_covers-25reads

A lot of people like to send around lists. I have written posts about some of them before. I love the way they start conversations and ideas. I was interested to read this one, 25 books to read before age 25. It was a list comprised by a group of staff for working for The Daily (of the University of Washington). I am supposing that all those writing were younger people and the books were for young adults (from 16-24). The article was written at the end of 2006 so would anything have changed if they wrote the list now? What would you prefer to have on your list? I have read all but 6 titles (indicated), and most were read before I was 25, either at high school or whilst I was at university. 

The list was:

  1. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  2. The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay
  3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  4. The Jungle by Upton Sinclair
  5. The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand
  6. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  7. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  8. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
  9. The Historianby Elizabeth Kostova
  10. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
  11. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  12. The Quiet American by Graham Greene
  13. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  14. The Stand by Stephen King
  15. Animal Farm by George Orwell
  16. On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  17. Invisible Monstersby Chuck Palahniuk
  18. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  19. The Crucible by Arthur Miller
  20. Ishmael,: an adventure of the mind and spirit by Daniel Quinn
  21. Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe
  22. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
  23. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
  24. Fast Food Nationby Eric Schlossinger
  25. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson

What would I put in this list? I like most that are in the list above.  I thought I would remove the ones I didn’t know and I don’t think that I would put #7 or 24 into my list. This means 8 other titles.

Other books that I like, and they not necessarily are:

  1.  1984 by George Orwell
  2. The Hound of the Baskervilles (I like the crime genre and this is THE classic)
  3. The island of Dr. Moreau by HG Wells
  4. All quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque
  5. The Sword in the stone by TH White
  6. Schindler’s Ark by Thomas Keneally
  7. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? (Blade runner) by Philip K. Dick
  8. Breath by Tim Winton or My Brilliant Career by Miles Franklin

I also like Travels with my Aunt (Greene), Kim (Kipling), A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens), Brave New World (Huxley), A Clockwork Orange (Burgess), Lord of the Flies (Golding), The War of the Worlds (Wells), The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Adams),  Sons and Lovers (Lawrence), Oyster (Janette Turner Hospital), and The things they carried (O’Brien). It is hard for me to limit myself once I start.

Whilst I was looking back at books I studied in my later schooling years, I realised I had studied very little Australian Literature, except for Henry Lawson short stories. Nowadays it seems to have changed somewhat so that Australian students can read more of their own country’s literature, but it does depend on the choices of the teaching staff. Perhaps we should start a list of 25 Australian books to read by the time you are 25!

I am thinking about using this idea with our students this year, perhaps in book week. Discussing the idea with the others, we are considering the idea of another blog on our library site and give our students a chance to put up their ideas for 18 books before the age of 18 – so it would be books every student should read before they leave school. We could then try to come up with a definitive list for the year and perhaps adapt/edit it each year after.

One Response

  1. […] Rhondda’s Reflections – wandering around the Web placed an interesting blog post on 25 books to read- a listHere’s a brief overviewA lot of people like to send around lists. I have written posts about some of them before. I love the way they start conversations and ideas. I was interested to read this one, 25 books to read before age 25 . It was a list comprised by a group of staff for working for  The Daily (of the University of Washington). I am supposing that all those writing were younger people and the books were for young adults (from 16-24). The article was written at the end of 2006 so would anything have chan […]

Leave a Reply

