Fake websites – Internet literacy

Why is our first impulse to believe something that we see, read or hear? Especially if it is in print, online or comes in an “officially” looking packaging? How do we teach ourselves and our students, that another impulse has to follow the first one immediately: Evaluate…critical thinking… learn to listen for and to your own “gut feeling”… cross referencing…”

So far I have brought together some of the hoax sites and will work on organising some suggested activities that will lead the students to “discover” the problems with not evaluating the information they find.

So I have included most of the sites I have found, and believe would be useful in classrooms, below. Any other good sites would be welcomed. Next step some simple and medium level activities

  • Burmese Mountain Dogs The ‘official’ site for the breed you will never before heard of.

4 Responses

  1. Thank you for commenting on my elluminate post. I came visiting you and really like this post to. It has given some ideas for my year 8 class to work with on Friday. I certainly agree that students feel that everything on the internet is correct and is this is their research of choice preference, it is important that they learn to double check what they read onlin.

  2. I found this by accident but I’m glad I did. What a great tool for teaching students and teachers how to think critically about the internet.

  3. so cool

  4. I must say i appreciate basically reading
    through your entire sites. Merely wanted to let you know you have folks much at all
    as i am who value work. Definitely a great submit. Hats off and away to a person!
    The information which you have found here is very useful.

Leave a comment