The Inkys and other stuff

The Inkys longlist is out. I unfortunately didn’t get there (vitually or otherwise). However you can read about the list in the insidadog site and also listen to the recording.

Golden Inky (for Australian titles)

Silver Inky (International titles)

  • Exposure (Mal Peet)
  • Girl at Sea (Maureen Johnson)
  • If I Stay (Gayle Forman)
  • Love, Aubrey (Suzanne La Fleur)
  • Paper Towns (John Green)
  • Skim (Mariko and Jillian Tamaki)
  • Ten Mile River (Paul Griffin)
  • The 10PM Question (Kate de Goldi)
  • The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian (Sherman Alexie)
  • The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins)

I have linked to the titles I have read (or skimmed). I really enjoyed reading Anthony Eaton’s Into White Silence and Broken Glass was very confronting at times. It reminded me of how uncomfortable I felt when I read Wake in fright (many years ago now). I have been saying I must read Jarvis 24 properly as I find that David Metzenthen’s voice is very Australian and he captures a lot of our character. It is a great list of Australian titles and the International titles that I have read are certainly worthy of being on the list.

Speaking of lists, Tristan Bancks (author of the Mac Slater series) is going to be a guest-blogger at least twice a week on the Boys, Blokes, Books and Bytes site. He has started with the question “what is the best book for boys ever? and he would like everyone to answer. It should get some great conversations started.

To start with he asked a handful of Australia’s favourite children’s writers to give their tip on the best book for boys ever and got the following results:

  • James Roy: The Machine Gunners (by Robert Westall)
  • David Metzenthen: The Really Nearly Deadly Canoe Ride (by David Metzenethen)
  • Pat Flynn: Holes by Louis Sachar and Ishmael and the Return of the Dugongs (by Gerard Michael Bauer)
  • Nick Place: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (by Douglas Adams)
  • And my tip? My Side of the Mountain (by Jean Craighead George)

This is such a great question I am going to ask my colleagues at work for their nominations. I want to then share the results with the students and try to get some ideas from them. It should fit in well with the Book Week activities next week.

It will be interesting to see if there is much of an overlap. There are usually quite a few differences between the winners lists of the CBCA  book awards and the Yabba and Inky winners.

I would love to get any other thoughts as well. If you don’t know Mac Slater, have a look at the little video trailers below;

and listen to the ideas behind Tristan’s books

 

 

 

2 Responses

  1. Hi Rhondda, I think the comparison between Broken Glass and Wake in Fright is a good one! It’s a very unsettling book with a great ending. Lot’s of fantastic books on both lists, though. I hope that the Inkys is embraced by young readers and by adults, too.

    • Yes, I agree. There are some great books. I am working on getting a few of our student readers into the insideadog site as well as the Inkys. The boys are keen so now for the teachers!

Leave a Reply

