My learning and teaching today

How do I teach today? How do I learn now? How did I learn when I was at school? I read a post a few weeks ago by Susan Carter MorganHow did I learn yesterday?” It made me reflect about how I learnt but then I got caught up in the start of the year rush at our school and my thoughts got lost in the chaos of school camps and orientation for new students.

This week in Victoria  a new curriculum was launched. All state education systems now have to begin the change to a National curriculum. Many teachers are saying they need more time to implement the change and that they need to learn about the proposed changes and what new skills they will have to teach, in other words they will have to go back to being learners for a little while. The talk has been about having to go back to learning rather than it being another aspect to their ongoing learning.

Since moving into the web2.0 world of social media I now think I would describe myself as “a learner” even before the tag “teacher” as I am constantly learning from all sorts of people  and in many different ways.

So, going back to my original paragraph, how did I learn over the last 24 hours? The following are some of the different sources I have learnt about useful (and important) information. I have learnt from:

  • RSS feeds from blogs that I like (including SCMorgan’s blog)
  • the dedicated and sharing educators on the  Classroom2.0 and English Companion Nings
  • listening to my iTunes podcasts from numerous sources but some edtechtalks were yesterday’s podcasts
  • suggested links from others in my Diigo groups
  • traffic advice via a friend’s iphone as I drove to the airport
  • from the smart and interesting people via my twitter
  • a video link from @Darcy1968 for a new video I collected on Vodpod
  • face to face conversations with teachers I work with at school
  • telephone calls to a parent and a colleague at the SLAV office
  • In a few days I have to talk to my fellow teachers about creating a technology  toolbox that will work for each of them. My hardest part of my task is about not overwhelming them but giving them a taste of what is out there for them and trying to get them to thinks about what would best suit their needs.

    My focus is two-fold:

    • opening them up to the idea that they can/should be developing links with like-minded individuals to assist them in their own personal learning and
    • looking at appropriate and useful tools that they can use with their students to assist them with their learning.

    Why they should do this, beyond the fact that the school requires them to undertake the PD, must also be built-in. In the long run I guess most of all I want them to realise that although it make take a little work in the first place the gains in the long-term will far out way this. When they see engaged and interested students and the support they will get from educators beyond  their own school barriers/walls will take them back to the reasons they began teaching.

    Paraphrasing a quote from one teacher when she had a student commenting (during the evening way after the school day had finished) for the first time on her new classroom ning “I get it! It was amazing to feel the buzz when he came online and made a comment about a discussion point. To know they were willing to continue learning in their own time was exciting”

    One Response

    1. Continue learning in their own time….that certainly says it all, doesn’t it?

    Leave a Reply

