Top 100 Tools for Learning 2013

The 2013 list has been published by Jane Hart. I use all of the top 10 tools listed  and would probably agree with the order although #10, Google Hangouts, has become much more important to me in the last 6 months and I can see a lot of further use to be made of this tool next year. Quite a number of Google tools rate highly on the list.

I always find it interesting to see what tools have been found most useful by other educators. Are the tools I like rated highly by others? Are there tools that I am unaware of? Would some of these be useful for my situation? This year I found that some of the tools that had dropped of the 2012 list are back. Storify for instance has had a resurgence and is back at 58. The continued prominence  of Twitter on the list and the tool allowing users to select and organize tweets may be the reason.

It is also interesting to see that Twitter remains number 1. I have had many discussions with teachers about the use of Twitter. Many colleagues have denigrated it,not just as an educational tool but as a useful tool at all. When I stop them to tell them how I use it especially as part of my Professional Development, it often comes out that they have never actually used it but are just going on media reports and here say .It is sometimes hard for me to understand how easily these educated professionals can speak so forcefully about something they have no personal knowledge of and are basing their comments on media reports. The same media these teachers spend time warning their students to not simply accept but question the motives behind any reports/articles.

You can find an analysis of the 2013 list here and you can also find out further information and the site address with eshare, slideshow, links from her pages if you decide you want to investigate any of the tools further.

Leave a Reply

