Book Week Activity: What is that book title?

publicity image

Looking for ideas about book week activities I came across one I thought would be fun to set as a quiz. There are a few places to go if you are looking for ideas for book week but two very good sites I like for Book Week ideas are Susan Stephenson’s Book Chook blog and the Book Week for Beginners wiki.  There are all sorts of ideas and things that could be reworked for many libraries or classes.

One idea I liked was  playing around with titles and over the last few days I have had a go. I came up with the following that I will test with staff (and students). They will be able to see the list of CBCA titles (I think I will combine the 2013 and 2014 lists to make them look a little more. I will add a few other well-known titles for staff to try as well.

I have listed my new titles below and will put up this list on my reading wiki along with the answers after Book Week. Can you guess them? I see this activity as one that could be used with students at anytime. There could be many variations on the basic idea.

From the CBCA Short list, 2014

Fabricated stories for uneducated young females

Seasonal regulations

Achromatic fasteners

Unbelievable present

Welcome famous skipper

Notably less than whole

Interplanetary experiences

From 2013 short list

Small change for authoritarian

Majestic offspring

A venerable 24 hours

 Well known novels

Habitation of predatory carnivore (historical fiction)

Young magus deals with miscegentic potentate (fantasy)

Avocation for hereditary seat (fantasy)

Polar Radiance (fantasy)

Liberation money (Australian life)

Traveller, outfitter, warrior, provocateur (mystery)

Entirely me (Australian prize winning novel)

Leave a Reply

